Dan 2 – 1788

Earlier today I took Lartha down to the lake to teach her to fetch. She wasn’t doing anything.

Then the Lieutenant came and asked me why she wasn’t tied up.

I told him what I was doing but he didn’t listen. He threatened to tie me up against a tree if I didn’t follow his orders. I went to tie her up. After I had done that I went and found my friend Goodwin.

I asked him about Lartha and he said “The Governor is the law what he says goes,” he remarked.

I couldn’t see any point in arguing with him, even though I knew that the Governor had said we couldn’t take anything from the natives without paying compensation.

I snuck around the camp stealing precious things I could find to pay Warawi with.

So far I had a silver button, a wooden dice and a piece of fabric with a sewing needle in it.

I needed more things. I went to the kitchen tent and stole some drippings. I told cook that it was for my boots, he didn’t listen to my lie but I stole it any way.

I still needed more things to pay Warawi with. Right at that moment Lieutenant Roberts ordered everyone to get their gear as we wear going to march to the point. He told me to drum as out as he was telling me I stole his telescope and snuck it into my own bag I thought that was the last thing I would need to pay Warawi.

I started drumming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *